Young Ornithologists of the Year. This annual competition, run by the RSPB's junior wing, the Young Ornithologists' Club, was once again sponsored by British Birds. The winners and runners-up are as follows: SENIOR 1st Christopher R. Drake (Dorchester, Dorset) (13-18 years old) 2nd Guy Thompson (Winchester, Hampshire) 3rd Oscar Campbell (Lurgan, Co. Armagh) 4th David Anning (Deal, Kent) INTERMEDIATE 1st Dominick Spracklen (Huntly, Aberdeenshire) (10-12 years old) 2nd James Walsh (Altrincham, Cheshire) 3rd Matthew Latham (Llanfairfechan, Gwynedd) JUNIOR 1st Huw Prior (Chichester, West Sussex) (6-9 years old) Several of these names are familiar to us. Christopher R. Drake was sixth in the Senior Section last year, and Guy Thompson has now been second in this section two years running. Oscar Campbell and David Anning were first and second, respectively, in the Intermediate Section last year (Brit. Birds 81: 138); while James Walsh won the Junior Section in 1986 (Brit. Birds 79: 95), and he and Dominick Spracklen were second and third, respectively, in the Junior Section in 1987 (Brit. Birds 80: 78). It is very pleasing to British Birds and rewarding for the judges (Peter Holden and Dr J. T. R. Sharrock) to see the continued efforts and improvements which result in this progress by individual young birdwatchers through the competition, which is based on the competitors' field notebooks. The three winners, Christopher R. Drake, Dominick Spracklen and Huw Prior, will each be presented with a free one-year subscription to British Birds and £70-worth of bird books or equipment.

Issue 2
Start Page: 
Display Image: 

Stay at the forefront of British birding by taking out a subscription to British Birds.

Subscribe Now